Beacon Award

Origins, Humble as They May Seem
The Lighthouse Beacon Award was initiated by students to honor a Lighthouse faculty member for teaching excellence, commitment to students, and dedication to the craft of writing. The Beacon Award is presented at the kickoff get-together for the fall workshop session.

Instructors are eligible if they have taught for Lighthouse during the previous year, July 1st to June 30th. Past recipients of the Beacon Award are eligible again after a one-year grace period. Directors and officers of Lighthouse Writers Workshop are ineligible for the award, including the Program Director, Executive Director, Director of Development, Program Assistants, or Young Writers Program Coordinator.

The Award was originated by students and relies on nominations from students and current members of Lighthouse Writers Workshop. Once the call goes out, it’s up to our membership to submit letters of nomination. There are no bureaucratic forms to fill out, no affidavits to be notarized. Just submit your nomination via Submittable by July 31st, nominating a teacher who has made a memorable impact on the development of your craft during the past year. Include the instructor’s name, what classes you took, and any other information you feel relevant.

Once the letters of nomination are received, a Beacon Award Committee consisting of students and members of the Lighthouse Board of Directors will meet to consider the nominations received. They’ll consider these letters of support during the summer break and recommend one instructor to the Board for the Beacon Award.

Past Winners
2015: Benjamin Whitmer
2014: Erika Krouse
2013: Chris Ransick
2012: David Rothman
2011: Shari Caudron
2010: Paula Younger
2009: Alexandre Philippe
2008: William Haywood Henderson


© 2014, Lighthouse Writers Workshop.   All rights reserved.   |  1515 Race St, Denver, CO 80206    |   ph 303-297-1185   |